About us

Our staff

Melissa Conley Tyler FAIIA

Executive Director

Heather Wrathall

Program Lead

Hugh Piper

Program Lead

Tom Barber

Program Officer

Advisory group

Marc Purcell


CEO, Australian Council for International Development

Prof. Michael Wesley FAIIA


Deputy Vice Chancellor International, University of Melbourne

Bridi Rice

Founding Co-convenor

CEO, Development Intelligence Lab

Richard Moore

Founding Co-convenor

Partner and Principal Strategist, Positive Influence

Nicola Rosenblum

Funding Partner

Executive Director, Australian Civil-Military Centre

Prof. Caitlin Byrne FAIIA


Pro Vice Chancellor (Business), Griffith University

Chris Gardiner


CEO, Institute for Regional Security

Dr Huong Le Thu


Principal Policy Fellow, Perth US Asia Centre

James Batley PSM


Distinguished Policy Fellow, Australian National University

Jane Haycock


CEO, International Development Contractors Community

Prof. Joanne Wallis


Professor of International Security, University of Adelaide

Richard Maude


Inaugural Executive Director, Policy, The Asia Society

Susannah Patton


Director, Southeast Asia Program, Lowy Institute

Dr William Stoltz


Lecturer & Expert Associate, ANU National Security College

Hayley Channer


Director, Economic Security, United States Studies Centre

Thenu Herath


Board Member, Oaktree

Our story

AP4D launched with a meeting of leading Australian thinkers in November 2019. 

Founding partners were the Australian Council for International Development, Australian National University, International Development Contractors Community and the Institute for Regional Security. The inaugural Co-convenors were Richard Moore and Bridi Rice.

AP4D held its first public webinar, ‘Is Australia match fit for a post-COVID world?‘ in June 2020.