

Symposium Program

11:00 – 11:20am	A decade of change in Australia diplomacy  Welcome Melissa Conley Tyler FAIIA, Executive Director, Asia-Pacific Development, Diplomacy & Defence Dialogue (AP4D)  Remarks Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
11.20am – 12:50pm	Setting the context: diplomacy in a time of geopolitical competition Chair: Susannah Patton, Director of the Southeast Asia Program, Lowy Institute  Strategic messaging for deterrence Jane Hardy, Non-Resident Senior Fellow, United States Studies Centre Australia's China diplomacy Associate Professor Marina Zhang, Australia-China Relations Institute, University of Technology Sydney Australia's Pacific diplomacy Priestley Habru, School of Social Sciences, The University of Adelaide Australia's maritime diplomacy Professor Bec Strating, La Trobe Asia Multilateral diplomacy Professor Susan Harris Rimmer FAIIA, Griffith Law School, Griffith University
12:50 – 1:30pm	Lunch
1:30 – 3:00pm	Building diplomatic capability: DFAT adaptation and change Chair: Bridi Rice, CEO, Development Intelligence Lab  Australian diplomacy in a post rules-based international order Peter Varghese AO, Chancellor of the University of Queensland and former Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Diplomatic capacity Ian Kemish AM, Distinguished Advisor, ANU National Security College and Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Queensland Development aid within DFAT Jess Mackenzie, Australian Council for International Development (ACFID) First Nations foreign policy James Blackwell, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, Australian National University Diversity and diplomacy Dr Elise Stephenson, Global Institute for Women's Leadership, Australian National University



### Symposium Program

3:00 – 3:30pm	Afternoon tea
3:30 – 4:45pm	Diplomacy outside DFAT Chair: Dr Julie Ballangarry, School of Government and International Relations, Griffith University  Defence Diplomacy Dr Shannon Zimmerman, Center for Future Defence and National Security, Deakin University International Education Professor Caitlin Byrne FAIIA, Pro Vice Chancellor (Business), Griffith University Economic Statecraft Helen Mitchell, Sir Roland Wilson Scholar, Australian National University Private Sector Dr William Stoltz, ANU National Security College and CyberCX Discussant Nicola Rosenblum, Executive Director, Australian Civil-Military Centre (ACMC)
4:45 – 5:30pm	Looking ahead and closing remarks Chair: Dr Kate O'Shaughnessy, Perth USAsia Centre  Intergenerational diplomacy Thenu Herath, former CEO of The Oaktree Foundation Climate diplomacy and COP31 Dr Wesley Morgan, Griffith Asia Institute Making the right investments Will Leben, Development Intelligence Lab

### **Attendees**



- Aaron Kearney OAM, ABC International Development
- Dr Abdul Rahman Yaacob, Lowy Institute
- Adi Salote Koronuku Jade Tagivakatini, University of Adelaide
- · Aedan Whyatt, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Alan Hewson, Australian Council for International Development (ACFID)
- Amy Williams, ASEAN-Australia Centre
- CMD Andrea Quinn APM, Australian Federal Police
- Dr Andreas Radtke, Friedrich Ebert Stiftung Australia & New Zealand
- Associate Professor Andrew Carr, ANU Strategic & Defence Studies Centre
- Anna Naupa, Australian National University
- Dr Annemarie Devereux, Griffith Law School
- HE Arjaree Sriratanaban, Ambassador, Royal Thai Embassy
- Brett Chant, Development Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Dr Bryce Wakefield, Australian Institute of International Affairs National Office
- Dr Cameron Hill, Development Policy Centre, Australian National University
- · Catherine Gill, Development Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- · Charles Adamson, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Chris Gardiner, The Institute for Regional Security
- Christopher Anderson, Director Policy and International, Australian Academy of Science
- Claire Scott, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Dr Claire Yorke, Australian War College and Deakin University
- GPCAPT Dan Drinan, Australian Civil-Military Centre (ACMC)
- Derya Koc-Macdonald, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Doris Voorbraak, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- Dr Fitriani, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
- Fiona Hoggart, ASEAN-Australia Centre
- · Gemma Williams, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Glenn Elson, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- · Grace Stanhope, Lowy Institute
- Heath McMichael, Australian Institute of International Affairs ACT Branch
- Helen Stratton, Department of Defence International Policy Division
- Dr Huong Le Thu, International Crisis Group
- Jack Hayes, Australian National University
- · James Batley PSM, ANU Department of Pacific Affairs

### **Attendees**



- John McCarthy, University of Melbourne Vice-Chancellor's Fellow
- Jules Frost, Australian Civil-Military Centre (ACMC)
- · Luke Arnold, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- · Professor Meg Keen, ANU Department of Pacific Affairs
- Mary Hunt, British High Commission
- Matthew Maury (AP4D Co-Chair), Australian Council for International Development (ACFID)
- Melissa Hitchman, Australian National University
- Professor Michael Wesley FAIIA (AP4D Co-Chair), University of Melbourne
- Natalie McLean, Australian Civil-Military Centre (ACMC)
- Nathan Hansford, International Development Contractors Community (IDCC)
- · HE Nikolas Stürchler, Ambassador of Switzerland
- Nigel Stanier, Policy Planning Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (likely)
- Peerapong Phimonwichayakit, Royal Thai Embassy
- Ridvan Kilic, Deakin University
- · Professor Shirley Scott FAIIA, UNSW Canberra
- Dr Sophie Lewis, ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment
- Steph Gorecki Natik, International Economics and Security Division, The Treasury
- Susan Dietz, ANU National Security College
- · Sonya Neufeld, Development Policy Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Richard Maude FAIIA, The Asia Society
- Dr Scott Blakemore, Griffith University
- Suzanne Akila, Office of Southeast Asia, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- · Ximena Morrisby, Department of Defence International Policy Division
- Wayne Snell, Australian Civil-Military Centre (ACMC)
- Will Devine, Australian Council for International Development (ACFID)

#### Staff

- Grant Wyeth, Asia-Pacific Development, Diplomacy & Defence Dialogue (AP4D)
- Heather Wrathall, Asia-Pacific Development, Diplomacy & Defence Dialogue (AP4D)
- Tom Barber, Asia-Pacific Development, Diplomacy & Defence Dialogue (AP4D)
- Maria Herrera, Australian Council for International Development (ACFID)